McGillians up for Junos

McGillians up for Junos McGill University

| Skip to search Skip to navigation Skip to page content

User Tools (skip):

Sign in | Friday, November 30, 2018
Sister Sites: McGill website | myMcGill

McGill Reporter
February 7, 2008 - Volume 40 Number 11
| Help
Page Options (skip): Larger
Home > McGill Reporter > Volume 40: 2007-2008 > February 7, 2008 > McGillians up for Junos

McGillians up for Junos

The roster of nominations for the 2008 Juno Awards, to air Sunday, April 6, includes a number of artists with McGill connections. To wit:

  • Arcade Fire, including lead vocalist Win Butler, BA’04, Alternative Album of the Year, for Neon Bible
  • Prof. Matt Haimovitz, Classical Album of the Year: Solo or Chamber Performance, for After Reading Shakespeare
  • Les Voix Baroques (all three members are McGill grads: counter-tenor Matthew White, BA’98, violinist Chloe Meyers, BMus’98, and cellist Amanda Keesmaat, Artist Diploma’99), Classical Album of the Year: Vocal or Choral Performance, for Buxtehude Tricentenary
  • Brian Current, BMus’96, Classical Composition of the Year, for This Isn’t Silence
  • Chromeo, including David Macklovitich, BA’00, MA’03, Dance Recording of the Year, for Fancy Footwork
  • Arcade Fire, Group of the Year
  • Jeff Wolpert, MMus’98, Recording Engineer of the Year
  • Jodi Proznick Quartet (all members are McGill grads: bassist and composer Jodi Proznick, BMus’98, pianist Tilden Webb, BMus’92, MMus’97, sax player Stephen Kaldestad, BMus’94, MMus’00, and drummer Jesse Cahill, BMus’99), Traditional Jazz Album of the Year, for Foundations
  • Autorickshaw, including percussionist Patrick Graham, BMus’95, World Music Album of the Year, for So The Journey Goes

Best of luck to all of our musical McGillians!

view sidebar content | back to top of page