Kudos McGill University

| Skip to search Skip to navigation Skip to page content

User Tools (skip):

Sign in | Friday, November 30, 2018
Sister Sites: McGill website | myMcGill

McGill Reporter
March 22, 2001 - Volume 33 Number 13
| Help
Page Options (skip): Larger


David Burgess, a student in the Faculty of Management, is a finalist for the Canadian Interuniversity Athletics Union's Randy Gregg Trophy as the university hockey player who best combines academic performance, athletic ability and community service. A centre with the McGill Redmen, Burgess is the 10th-leading scorer in his conference, a CIAU Academic All-Canadian (at least an 80 per cent average) and a volunteer coach at hockey clinics.

Greg Davis, a student in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, and Dan McClean, a student in the Department of Economics, were named to the Ontario University Athletics Eastern Conference hockey all-star team. Davis, a Redmen left winger, is the 10th best scorer in Canadian university hockey, while teammate McClean is the second most offensively productive defenceman in the country.

Professor Roderick Gutherie, from the Department of Mining and Metallurgical Engineering, was the first recipient of the J. Keith Brimacombe Prize for outstanding accomplishments in materials process engineering.

Sarah Ali-Khan, a graduate student in the Department of Pharmacology and Therapeutics, won three gold medals and a silver to lead McGill to the Quebec university women's championship in track and field.

Sylvain Lemieux, a student in the Department of Psychology, earned a silver medal and three bronze medals at the CIAU swimming championships in Guelph last month.

Law students Marie-Helene Besnier, Jean-François Peyronnard, Pierre-Étienne Simard and Reisa Khalifa took the prize as the best team at the recent Mignault mooting competition at Université Laval. Peyronnard and Khalifa were named the best tandem. The team was coached by law professor David Lametti and McGill law graduates Marc Lemieux and Jean Lortie.

Law students Lindsay Cameron, Andrew Hastings, Sébastien Roy and Jenna Séguin won the prizes for best factums, best respondents and best team at the Laskin Moot competition. They came in second to the University of Ottawa in the final run-off moot. They were coached by law professor Richard Janda and law student Robert Leckey.

view sidebar content | back to top of page