Kudos McGill University

| Skip to search Skip to navigation Skip to page content

User Tools (skip):

Sign in | Friday, November 30, 2018
Sister Sites: McGill website | myMcGill

McGill Reporter
January 24, 2002 - Volume 34 Number 09
| Help
Page Options (skip): Larger


Classics professor Anne Carson has won what The Times of London describes as "poetry's most prestigious award." Carson earned the £10,000 T.S. Eliot Prize for her book, The Beauty of the Husband. Among the other poets on the shortlist for the prize was Nobel winner Seamus Heaney. Eliot Prize judge Helen Dunmore said the book "brilliantly maps the death of a marriage in poetry which is by turns tart, lyrical, plainspoken and highly charged."

Surgery professor Mostafa Elhilali, the urologist-in-chief of the McGill University Health Centre, has been appointed an officer of the Order of Canada. The MUHC's urology division, under his leadership, is seen as one of the best in Canada. A widely respected teacher and clinician, Elhilali earned a lifetime achievement award from the Canadian Urological Association.

Medicine professor Yogesh Patel has been named a member of the Order of Canada. Regarded as one of Canada's foremost neuroendocrinologists, Patel's research offers hope of new insights into the workings of such diseases as schizophrenia, depression and Parkinson's disease.

Kinesiology and physical education student Kim St. Pierre has been named to Canada's 2002 Olympic national team. St. Pierre was named the top goalie at the 2001 international women's hockey championships.

Dean of Law Peter Leuprecht was presented with the Human Rights Award of the Lord Reading Law Society (LRLS). The LRLS noted Leuprecht's long commitment to human rights issues as evidenced by his scholarship, his contributions as the former deputy secretary-general of the Council of Europe and his recent work as the special representative of the secretary-general of the United Nations for human rights in Cambodia.

Law professor Armand de Mestral was awarded an honorary degree of Doctor of Laws from Japan's Kwansei Gakuin University. De Mestral has been a leading figure in the Canadian Red Cross Society in recent years and is an expert on international trade law, constitutional law and the law of the European Community.

Adjunct professor Hans J. Hofmann from the Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences has earned the Charles Doolittle Walcott Medal from the National Academy of Sciences. The prize, worth $10,000, is given once every five years for achievement in advancing our knowledge of pre-Cambrian or Cambrian life. Hofmann was chosen "for his pioneering discoveries of fossils that have illuminated life's early evolution, from Archean stromatolites and Proterozoic cyanobacteria, to the rise of multicellular organisms."

view sidebar content | back to top of page