Kudos McGill University

| Skip to search Skip to navigation Skip to page content

User Tools (skip):

Sign in | Friday, November 30, 2018
Sister Sites: McGill website | myMcGill

McGill Reporter
April 6, 2000 - Volume 32 Number 14
| Help
Page Options (skip): Larger


Professor Lawrence Mysak of the Department of Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences has been elected to the Academia Europeaea, making him the third Canadian ever to receive the honour. Mysak, founding director of McGill's Centre for Climate and Global Change Research, is a specialist in ocean and climate dynamics. He will belong to the Earth & Cosmic Sciences Section of the Academia, which was founded in 1988 as an independent organization of European scholars and scientists from all disciplines to deal with European problems in an interdisciplinary approach.

Professor Leon Glass of the Department of Physiology has been elected a fellow of the American Physical Society in the Division of Biological Physics. Only half a percent of the society's membership is elected to the fellowship. "For development and application of methods of nonlinear dynamics to study physiological dynamics" will appear on Glass's certificate.

Mr. David Allard, a computer science student, earned the Best Performance of the Year in swimming for the second consecutive time. He was honoured at last Saturday's McGill Swim Awards Banquet.

Ms. Jeanette Gevikoglu, Mr. Robert Leckey, Mr. Eric Mendelsohn and Mr. Eric Ward won the Laskin moot. Moreover, law students Mendelsohn and Gevikoglu were first and third best oralists. This year's national mooting competition was held in February on the subject of bioethics. Debating on international legal issues.

Ms. Cara Cameron, Ms. Arian West Pernica, Mr. Jeffery Commission and Mr. Gleider Hernandez won the Canadian National Round of the Jessup International Law Moot. The subject was the responsibilities of states in international law. The team now advances to the international competition in Washington.

Mr. Antoine Motulsky-Falardeau came first for best pleading in Sopinka Cup competition held last month in Ottawa. Fellow law student Ms. Nathalie Boucratie won the prize for best opening and closing statements at the Sopinka where 12 Canadian schools of law were represented. In February, she and Motulsky-Falardeau were judged best team in the Quebec pleading competition.

Mr. Olivier Lefebvre, a graduate student in aerospace engineering, has won for the second time the Friends of McGill Football Trophy for best defensive player this year. Lefebvre was in on 84 tackles over eight regular season games, making him the team's top tackler.

Mr.Mathieu Darche and Mr. David Bahl have both been named to the Canadian Interuniversity Athletics Union hockey championships. Having two Redmen on the all-Canadian team is a first for McGill. Darche is a management student while Bahl studies physical education. Darche was also recently awarded the TSN Randy Gregg Award, honouring the CIAU hockey player that best combines athletic and academic excellence.

In swimming, Ms. Lisa Virgini, a management student, captured the Best Performance of the Year Trophy and won, for the second time, the Marie-Claude Memorial Award for combined academic and athletic excellence.

view sidebar content | back to top of page