Kudos McGill University

| Skip to search Skip to navigation Skip to page content

User Tools (skip):

Sign in | Friday, November 30, 2018
Sister Sites: McGill website | myMcGill

McGill Reporter
November 22, 2001 - Volume 34 Number 06
| Help
Page Options (skip): Larger


The Humanities and Social Sciences Federation of Canada (HSSFC) have announced the finalists for their book awards and two of the authors in the running are McGill professors.

Professor Yvan Lamonde from the Department of French Language and Literature is a finalist for the Prix Raymond Klibansky, an award that goes to the best French-language book dealing with the humanities. Lamonde is nominated for his Histoire sociale des idées au Québec (1760-1896). Lamonde has already earned an armful of prizes for his work, including the Canadian Historical Association's Prix CLIO for the best book of history about Quebec, the Prix Percy Foy de la Société historique de Montréal and the Prix Richard-Arès de la Fondation Lionel-Groulx. He also earned an honourable mention as a runner-up for the Canadian Historical Association's John A. MacDonald Prize for best book of Canadian history.

Professor Filippo Sabetti from the Department of Political Science is a finalist for the HSSFC's Harold Adams Innis Prize for best English-language book in the social sciences for his work, The Search for Good Government: Understanding the Paradox of Italian Democracy.

Emeritus law professor Paul-André Crépeau received an honorary degree from Panthéon-Assas University in Paris. Crépeau has been a towering figure on the Quebec law scene, serving as president of the Office of the Revision of the Quebec Civil Code and co-authoring the Quebec Charter of Human Rights and Freedoms. At McGill, he was the founding director of the Quebec Research Centre of Private and Comparative Law.

Professor Jamie MacDougall from the Department of Psychology has been inducted into the Terry Fox Hall of Fame. The hall, overseen by the Canadian Foundation for Physically Disabled Persons, pays tribute to Canadians who have made outstanding contributions to the lives of people with disabilities, through research, advocacy, education, public policy or other means. MacDougall, the president of the Canadian Deafness Research and Training Institute, authored a groundbreaking study on deaf children in Canada.

Dr. David Rosenblatt from the Department of Human Genetics has been elected as a new member of the Canadian Institute of Academic Medicine, an organization dedicated to supporting academic medicine, particularly in the clinical departments of Canada's faculties of medicine. Membership in the CIAM is limited to 100 and is based on distinguished contributions to medicine through research, education and leadership.

Naomi Lear, an honours student in the Faculty of Science, was one of five exceptional female students selected from across the country as recipients of Saturn Canada's 2001 Commitment to Excellence scholarships. Winners of the award, valued at $1,500, are chosen on the basis of their academic accomplishments, involvement in the community and/or contributions to business, athletics, the arts and sciences.

view sidebar content | back to top of page